Accreditation Advisory Board (AAB)

The Accreditation Advisory Board (AAB) is an advisory committee which serves to advise HKAS on matters relating to accreditation. Its Chairman and members are appointed by the Secretary for Innovation, Technology and Industry under the delegated authority from the Chief Executive by notice in the Gazette, normally for a term of two years. Members of AAB include representatives from private and public bodies having interests in the accreditation for conformity assessment bodies, technical specialists, major users of HKAS accredited activities, and representative from conformity assessment bodies.

Terms of Reference

The terms of reference of Accreditation Advisory Board (AAB) shall be:-

  1. to provide advice to the Head of Hong Kong Accreditation Service (HKAS) on general policy matters relating to accreditation;
  2. to review, if requested by an accredited organisation or applicant organisation, decisions made by HKAS Executive or by AAB;
  3. to review and appraise assessment reports and to make recommendations to the Head of HKAS;
  4. to establish working parties to undertake specific tasks;
  5. to propose mechanisms to monitor competence of accredited organisations;
  6. to advise HKAS Executive on the establishment and maintenance of a panel of assessors and technical experts for each of the accreditation schemes administered by HKAS;
  7. to identify and evaluate acceptable sources of calibration to meet the needs of any HKAS accreditation scheme and to review periodically these sources of calibration; and
  8. to advise HKAS Executive on any other technical or non-technical matters in connection with accreditation in the furtherance of good practice.


Membership List

(1.11.2022 – 31.10.2024)


  • Professor Paul LAM Kwan-sing, SBS, JP

Ex-officio Vice-Chairman

  • Head of Hong Kong Accreditation Service (or his representative)


  • Ms Cindy CHAN Ieng-kei
  • Dr CHAN Kui-fat
  • Professor Henry CHUNG Shu-hung
  • Dr Emmie HO Ngai-man
  • Ms Miranda KWAN Ching-yi
  • Mr LEE Wai-kwok
  • Ir Professor Irene LO Man-chi, JP
  • Dr NG Ho-leung
  • Ir SHIU Chi-yung
  • Ir Gloria TANG Yuk-yee
  • Mr Bernie TING Wai-cheung
  • Professor Karl TSIM Wah-keung
  • Ir Professor Michael YAM Chi-ho
  • Ms Nina YIU Shui-sang

Ex-officio Members

  • Government Chemist of Government Laboratory (or his representative)
  • Deputy Director of Housing (Development & Construction) (or his representative)
  • Head of Laboratory of Standards and Calibration Laboratory of Innovation and Technology Commission (or his representative)